Art & Artists Artists & Collections Artists Ye Qianyu

Ye Qianyu

1907-1995

SUMMARY

The form and style of Ye Qianyu’s artworks have gone through several changes in his creative process. Repeated review and examination of his own artistic experience, as well as the deepening understanding of the tradition, continue to push Ye Qianyu to take the observation and description of daily life as the starting point, and to gradually expand the aesthetic boundary of traditional art through his determination of the automaticity of painting. 

Ye Qianyu’s career began in the 1920s as a cartoonist. The long-running comic book Mr. Wang, which recorded Shanghai’s walks of life, was once very popular. During the War of Resistance against Japanese Invasion, in the name of the lead of the Comic Publicity Team of the War of Resistance Association, Ye led a group of domestic cartoonists through Nanjing, Zhenjiang and Wuhan, etc., to hold comic publicity activities on the street. After he sketched from life in the Miao District in Guizhou in 1942, Ye Qianyu started to shift from comics to Chinese painting, and went to Chongqing to study Chinese painting techniques with Zhang Daqian in 1945. In the inaugural issue of People’s Art, Ye Qianyu wrote an article From Comics to Chinese Painting (self-criticism) explaining his transformation and describing his exploration in Chinese painting: “I have been working hard to bring the world we live in into Chinese painting.” The grasp of real life is the key to Ye Qianyu’s creation. The sketches Ye Qianyu had been created for life since the 1930s had provided an inexhaustible source of inspiration for his comics and Chinese paintings, and also made sketching one of the most undisputed aspects of Ye Qianyu’s artistic achievements. 

Ye Qianyu was also an educator who contributed greatly to the development of art education and the inheritance of Chinese painting techniques. In 1947, Ye Qianyu was invited by Xu Beihong as an “emerging creator” (termed by Xu Beihong, meaning a representative of the New Chinese Painting) and taught at the National Art School in Beiping. After the restoration of the Chinese Painting Department in 1954, Ye Qianyu served as the head of the department, considering and exploring the artistic features and teaching methods of Chinese painting in the ever-changing political and literary environment. In 1949, National Art School in Beiping was renamed the Central Academy of Fine Arts, advocating art as a service for workers, peasants and soldiers, emphasizing creation in teaching, and paying attention to figure paintings. Ye Qianyu strived to change the system in which the techniques and creations were separated, took the lead in teaching the both to reverse the singular education system caused by the environment in which art mostly served the metaphysical slogans. By the end of the 1950s, despite the social rhetoric of “Don’t care too much of the style, just pick up the brush pen and paint”, Ye insisted on the characteristics and advantages of the national painting traditions and concentrated on studying the history and theories of painting. His viewpoints were published in his lectures at the Central Academy of Fine Arts, and papers and magazines including People’s Daily and New Observation.

Ye Qianyu created the “tradition, life, creation” trinity and the teaching system that combines “imitating, sketching, creating” out of his reflections of his own artistic experience under special social and teaching context. We can not only get a glimpse of the artistic characteristics of Ye Qianyu as an innovative figure in Chinese painting at the beginning of his teaching career, but can also see Ye Qianyu’s change of focus in the next ten years as an artist and the educator in the Central Academy of Fine Arts. The pursuit of the purity of painting and the independent reflection of the core of Chinese painting made Ye Qianyu’s creations constantly present the dynamics that is evolutionary and negative. This diversity can be seen directly in Ye Qianyu’s cartoons, Chinese paintings and sketches, as well as from his plentiful writings from different time periods. 


The form and style of Ye Qianyu’s artworks have gone through several changes in his creative process. Repeated review and examination of his own artistic experience, as well as the deepening understanding of the tradition, continue to push Ye Qianyu to take the observation and description of daily life as the starting point, and to gradually expand the aesthetic boundary of traditional art through his determination of the automaticity of painting. 

Ye Qianyu’s career began in the 1920s as a cartoonist. The long-running comic book Mr. Wang, which recorded Shanghai’s walks of life, was once very popular. During the War of Resistance against Japanese Invasion, in the name of the lead of the Comic Publicity Team of the War of Resistance Association, Ye led a group of domestic cartoonists through Nanjing, Zhenjiang and Wuhan, etc., to hold comic publicity activities on the street. After he sketched from life in the Miao District in Guizhou in 1942, Ye Qianyu started to shift from comics to Chinese painting, and went to Chongqing to study Chinese painting techniques with Zhang Daqian in 1945. In the inaugural issue of People’s Art, Ye Qianyu wrote an article From Comics to Chinese Painting (self-criticism) explaining his transformation and describing his exploration in Chinese painting: “I have been working hard to bring the world we live in into Chinese painting.” The grasp of real life is the key to Ye Qianyu’s creation. The sketches Ye Qianyu had been created for life since the 1930s had provided an inexhaustible source of inspiration for his comics and Chinese paintings, and also made sketching one of the most undisputed aspects of Ye Qianyu’s artistic achievements. 

Ye Qianyu was also an educator who contributed greatly to the development of art education and the inheritance of Chinese painting techniques. In 1947, Ye Qianyu was invited by Xu Beihong as an “emerging creator” (termed by Xu Beihong, meaning a representative of the New Chinese Painting) and taught at the National Art School in Beiping. After the restoration of the Chinese Painting Department in 1954, Ye Qianyu served as the head of the department, considering and exploring the artistic features and teaching methods of Chinese painting in the ever-changing political and literary environment. In 1949, National Art School in Beiping was renamed the Central Academy of Fine Arts, advocating art as a service for workers, peasants and soldiers, emphasizing creation in teaching, and paying attention to figure paintings. Ye Qianyu strived to change the system in which the techniques and creations were separated, took the lead in teaching the both to reverse the singular education system caused by the environment in which art mostly served the metaphysical slogans. By the end of the 1950s, despite the social rhetoric of “Don’t care too much of the style, just pick up the brush pen and paint”, Ye insisted on the characteristics and advantages of the national painting traditions and concentrated on studying the history and theories of painting. His viewpoints were published in his lectures at the Central Academy of Fine Arts, and papers and magazines including People’s Daily and New Observation.

Ye Qianyu created the “tradition, life, creation” trinity and the teaching system that combines “imitating, sketching, creating” out of his reflections of his own artistic experience under special social and teaching context. We can not only get a glimpse of the artistic characteristics of Ye Qianyu as an innovative figure in Chinese painting at the beginning of his teaching career, but can also see Ye Qianyu’s change of focus in the next ten years as an artist and the educator in the Central Academy of Fine Arts. The pursuit of the purity of painting and the independent reflection of the core of Chinese painting made Ye Qianyu’s creations constantly present the dynamics that is evolutionary and negative. This diversity can be seen directly in Ye Qianyu’s cartoons, Chinese paintings and sketches, as well as from his plentiful writings from different time periods. 


Related essays

徐悲鸿:叶浅予之国画

2018-11-03~2019-02-28

浅予之国画一如其速写人物,同样熟练,故彼予曲直两形体,均无困难,择善择要,捕捉撷取,毫不避忌,此在国画上如此高手,五百年来,仅有仇十洲、吴友如两人而已... ...More

留住生命:叶浅予速写谈片

2018-11-03~2019-02-28

叶浅予先生一生总共画了多少幅速写,可能是一个艺术史之谜。粗略的估算,应该不少于25000幅。所以,到目前为止的各种已出版的叶浅予速写集加在一起,相对于他所... ...More

邵大箴:中央美院与中国画教学(1954-1963)

2018-11-03~2019-02-28

徐悲鸿坚持写实主义这一点是明确的、一贯的,至于说有没有徐悲鸿教学体系这个问题,可以继续讨论,暂且不去说它。但中央美院1950年成立之后第三年,徐悲鸿即已离... ...More

Artworks

Artworks

Quick loginAccount login
  • Mobile phone number will be your login ID
  •  
Use Artron membership to login

艺术与艺术家 艺术家&典藏 艺术家 叶浅予

叶浅予

1907-1995

简介

作品形式与风格在叶浅予的创作历程中几经变化。对于自身艺术经验的反复回顾与检视,以及对于传统之理解的日益加深,不断推动着叶浅予以日常生活的观察与描摹为出发点,在对绘画自律性的确定中,逐渐拓宽传统艺术的审美边界。

叶浅予的职业生涯开启于作为漫画家的二十世纪二十年代,记录上海众生百态的长篇连载漫画《王先生》曾风靡一时。抗战期间,叶浅予以抗战协会漫画宣传队队长名义,率国内漫画家辗转于中国南京、镇江、武汉等地,举办街头漫画宣传活动。自1942年贵州苗区写生后,叶浅予的创作开始由漫画转向中国画,并于1945年前往重庆随张大千学习中国画技法。在1950年《人民美术》创刊号上,叶浅予以《从漫画到国画(自我批判)》一文对其中转变做出了详尽阐释,并如此描述自己在国画方面的探寻:“我始终在努力把我们所生活着的世界搬到中国画面上去。”对现实生活的把握正是叶浅予创作的关键。而自三十年代起贯穿叶浅予一生的速写,为他的漫画与中国画创作提供了无穷尽的素材来源,也使速写作为独立的艺术形式,成为叶浅予的艺术成就中最无可争议的一面。

叶浅予也是一名教育家,对美术教育与中国画技法的继承与发展贡献巨大。1947年,叶浅予应徐悲鸿之邀,作为“新兴作家”(徐悲鸿语,即作为“新国画”的代表人物),任教于国立北平艺术专科学校。1954年美院恢复国画系后,叶浅予出任系主任,并在不断变化的政治与文艺气象中,思考与探索中国画的艺术特征与教学方法。1949年,北平艺专更名为中央美术学院,主张艺术为工农兵服务,在教学上强调创作,重视人物画。叶浅予力图改变这种技法与创作分家的制度,带头在教学中将二者并重,以扭转艺术为形而上口号服务而造成的单一教育体系。五十年代末,叶在“不管笔墨不笔墨,拿起毛笔来画就是”的社会大论调中,坚持民族绘画传统的特点与优势,潜心钻研画史画论,观点散见于美院讲稿与《人民日报》《新观察》等报刊杂志之中。1979年,平反后的叶浅予重回美院任教,提出以白描替代素描作为国画造型之基础,要求学生掌握全面,确立起完善的中国画现代教学体系,对美院的中国画教学影响深远。

叶浅予创立的“传统、生活、创造”三位一体及“临摹、写生、创作”三结合的教学体系,来源于叶在特殊的社会与教学语境下,从自身艺术经验出发展开的思考。其中既能窥见叶浅予作为国画之创新人物在开展教学工作之初的艺术特征,也反映出叶浅予作为艺术家与教育者在接下来十余载的美院生涯中关注点的转变。对于绘画纯粹性的追求、对于国画内核的独立反思,使叶浅予的创作不断呈现演化着、否定着的动态,这种多样性我们可以在叶浅予的漫画、中国画、速写稿中直接见得,也能从其不同时期的丰富著述中探知一二。

作品形式与风格在叶浅予的创作历程中几经变化。对于自身艺术经验的反复回顾与检视,以及对于传统之理解的日益加深,不断推动着叶浅予以日常生活的观察与描摹为出发点,在对绘画自律性的确定中,逐渐拓宽传统艺术的审美边界。

叶浅予的职业生涯开启于作为漫画家的二十世纪二十年代,记录上海众生百态的长篇连载漫画《王先生》曾风靡一时。抗战期间,叶浅予以抗战协会漫画宣传队队长名义,率国内漫画家辗转于中国南京、镇江、武汉等地,举办街头漫画宣传活动。自1942年贵州苗区写生后,叶浅予的创作开始由漫画转向中国画,并于1945年前往重庆随张大千学习中国画技法。在1950年《人民美术》创刊号上,叶浅予以《从漫画到国画(自我批判)》一文对其中转变做出了详尽阐释,并如此描述自己在国画方面的探寻:“我始终在努力把我们所生活着的世界搬到中国画面上去。”对现实生活的把握正是叶浅予创作的关键。而自三十年代起贯穿叶浅予一生的速写,为他的漫画与中国画创作提供了无穷尽的素材来源,也使速写作为独立的艺术形式,成为叶浅予的艺术成就中最无可争议的一面。

叶浅予也是一名教育家,对美术教育与中国画技法的继承与发展贡献巨大。1947年,叶浅予应徐悲鸿之邀,作为“新兴作家”(徐悲鸿语,即作为“新国画”的代表人物),任教于国立北平艺术专科学校。1954年美院恢复国画系后,叶浅予出任系主任,并在不断变化的政治与文艺气象中,思考与探索中国画的艺术特征与教学方法。1949年,北平艺专更名为中央美术学院,主张艺术为工农兵服务,在教学上强调创作,重视人物画。叶浅予力图改变这种技法与创作分家的制度,带头在教学中将二者并重,以扭转艺术为形而上口号服务而造成的单一教育体系。五十年代末,叶在“不管笔墨不笔墨,拿起毛笔来画就是”的社会大论调中,坚持民族绘画传统的特点与优势,潜心钻研画史画论,观点散见于美院讲稿与《人民日报》《新观察》等报刊杂志之中。1979年,平反后的叶浅予重回美院任教,提出以白描替代素描作为国画造型之基础,要求学生掌握全面,确立起完善的中国画现代教学体系,对美院的中国画教学影响深远。

叶浅予创立的“传统、生活、创造”三位一体及“临摹、写生、创作”三结合的教学体系,来源于叶在特殊的社会与教学语境下,从自身艺术经验出发展开的思考。其中既能窥见叶浅予作为国画之创新人物在开展教学工作之初的艺术特征,也反映出叶浅予作为艺术家与教育者在接下来十余载的美院生涯中关注点的转变。对于绘画纯粹性的追求、对于国画内核的独立反思,使叶浅予的创作不断呈现演化着、否定着的动态,这种多样性我们可以在叶浅予的漫画、中国画、速写稿中直接见得,也能从其不同时期的丰富著述中探知一二。

相关文章

徐悲鸿:叶浅予之国画

2019-10-12 10:12:00

浅予之国画一如其速写人物,同样熟练,故彼予曲直两形体,均无困难,择善择要,捕捉撷取,毫不避忌,此在国画上如此高手,五百年来,仅有仇十洲、吴友如两人而已... ...更多

留住生命:叶浅予速写谈片

2019-10-12 12:17:00

叶浅予先生一生总共画了多少幅速写,可能是一个艺术史之谜。粗略的估算,应该不少于25000幅。所以,到目前为止的各种已出版的叶浅予速写集加在一起,相对于他所... ...更多

邵大箴:中央美院与中国画教学(1954-1963)

2019-10-18 10:19:00

徐悲鸿坚持写实主义这一点是明确的、一贯的,至于说有没有徐悲鸿教学体系这个问题,可以继续讨论,暂且不去说它。但中央美院1950年成立之后第三年,徐悲鸿即已离... ...更多

作品图片

作品图片

快捷登录帐号密码登录
  • 手机号码
    手机号码将作为您的登录账号
  • 验证码
  • 账号
     
  • 密码
可使用雅昌艺术网会员账户登录