Art & Artists Artists & Collections Artists Zheng Jin

Zheng Jin

1883-1959

SUMMARY

The modernisation in China in the beginning of the 20th century tumbled as the external forces marched into the society. As for fine arts, the discipline emerged around 1905, when massive number of students started studying in Japan. As a result, the imported new knowledge across a wide range of disciplines changed the appearance of Chinese fine arts in terms of its methods and techniques, and further impacted the cultural scene through a transformation in thinking and institutions.

Zheng Jin arrived in Japan in 1902, pursuing his studies in Kyoto City Dohda Senior High School of Arts and later in Kyoto Municipal Specialist School of Painting. Returning to China in 1914, he was referred by Liang Qichao and took up a position at the Ministry of Education. In 1917, Zheng became the first president of the National School of Fine Arts in Beijing set up in the same year. He was credited with advocating an inclusive guiding principal within the very first national school of fine arts in the Chinese history, offering courses including Anatomy, History of Art, Aesthetics, and Western Painting, among others, under the subject of Chinese Painting. The school sought to fill the gap of Chinese painting with the techniques from other countries and put an emphasis on painting from life. The idea, resonating with the concept of ‘aesthetic education’ and ‘introducing scientific methods to art’ proposed by Zheng’s contemporary Cai Yuanpei, provided a paradigm for the enlightenment of professional fine arts education in modern China. In 1924, Zheng resigned as president in the upheavals of student strike and dedicated himself to mass education after making acquaintance with Y. C. James Yen. He went to Dingxian, Hebei in 1927 to promote mass education, aiming to wipe out illiteracy, raise civic awareness, and introduce aesthetic education to the common people.

Zheng’s early years of studying in Japan and his work experience at the Palace Museum results in his unique painting style combining nihonga with the Academic Painting (Yuanti School) of Song Dynasty. His highly decorative and brightly coloured paintings depict figures with an exquisite delicacy, at once conveying the traditional ethos of grace and harmony, and revealing his meticulous skills of painting physical objects. While flower-and-bird paintings and lady portraits make up the majority of his early works, Zheng turned to realistic themes in the 1930s and 1940s. The shift might be catalysed by the outbreak of the Second Sino-Japanese War, or it was the result of Zheng’s continuous thinking of ‘art as the only powerful tool in mass education’. In 1940, he relocated to Macau and had focused on his own painting since then. A lot of his work of this period embraces popular appeal, painting mundane themes from farmer, garden to rural life.

In the vicissitudes of Chinese society in the 19th century, Zheng Jin might not pioneer as a reformer of painting as such. His understanding and expression of ‘fine arts’, a term only entering the art narratives in China in 1902, might have transcended the skills and thinking that creators delved into in his age – his horizons extended to the exploration of a broader social function for the common people.

The modernisation in China in the beginning of the 20th century tumbled as the external forces marched into the society. As for fine arts, the discipline emerged around 1905, when massive number of students started studying in Japan. As a result, the imported new knowledge across a wide range of disciplines changed the appearance of Chinese fine arts in terms of its methods and techniques, and further impacted the cultural scene through a transformation in thinking and institutions.

Zheng Jin arrived in Japan in 1902, pursuing his studies in Kyoto City Dohda Senior High School of Arts and later in Kyoto Municipal Specialist School of Painting. Returning to China in 1914, he was referred by Liang Qichao and took up a position at the Ministry of Education. In 1917, Zheng became the first president of the National School of Fine Arts in Beijing set up in the same year. He was credited with advocating an inclusive guiding principal within the very first national school of fine arts in the Chinese history, offering courses including Anatomy, History of Art, Aesthetics, and Western Painting, among others, under the subject of Chinese Painting. The school sought to fill the gap of Chinese painting with the techniques from other countries and put an emphasis on painting from life. The idea, resonating with the concept of ‘aesthetic education’ and ‘introducing scientific methods to art’ proposed by Zheng’s contemporary Cai Yuanpei, provided a paradigm for the enlightenment of professional fine arts education in modern China. In 1924, Zheng resigned as president in the upheavals of student strike and dedicated himself to mass education after making acquaintance with Y. C. James Yen. He went to Dingxian, Hebei in 1927 to promote mass education, aiming to wipe out illiteracy, raise civic awareness, and introduce aesthetic education to the common people.

Zheng’s early years of studying in Japan and his work experience at the Palace Museum results in his unique painting style combining nihonga with the Academic Painting (Yuanti School) of Song Dynasty. His highly decorative and brightly coloured paintings depict figures with an exquisite delicacy, at once conveying the traditional ethos of grace and harmony, and revealing his meticulous skills of painting physical objects. While flower-and-bird paintings and lady portraits make up the majority of his early works, Zheng turned to realistic themes in the 1930s and 1940s. The shift might be catalysed by the outbreak of the Second Sino-Japanese War, or it was the result of Zheng’s continuous thinking of ‘art as the only powerful tool in mass education’. In 1940, he relocated to Macau and had focused on his own painting since then. A lot of his work of this period embraces popular appeal, painting mundane themes from farmer, garden to rural life.

In the vicissitudes of Chinese society in the 19th century, Zheng Jin might not pioneer as a reformer of painting as such. His understanding and expression of ‘fine arts’, a term only entering the art narratives in China in 1902, might have transcended the skills and thinking that creators delved into in his age – his horizons extended to the exploration of a broader social function for the common people.

Related essays

Who Was Zheng Jin?

2018-11-03~2019-02-28

华锦与褧裳——郑锦艺术风格及画学思想探析

2018-11-03~2019-02-28

作为近代中国第一所国立美术学校的创校校长,他早年留学日本,中岁京城办学、赴华北农村推行平民教育,晚年寓居粤澳潜心创作,其生平经历浓缩了20世纪前中期中国... ...More

Artworks

Artworks

Related exhibit

Zheng Jin and Modern Chinese Art Education

2019-01-09~2019-03-03

The one-year series of activities to celebrate the centenary of CAFA draw to its close. The university organized “Two Salutes” as the representative a... ...更多
Quick loginAccount login
  • Mobile phone number will be your login ID
  •  
Use Artron membership to login

艺术与艺术家 艺术家&典藏 艺术家 郑锦

郑锦

1883-1959

中国上世纪初的现代化过程是在外力挤压下的仓促迈进。就美术而言,这以1905年左右开始的大规模留日运动为起点。留学生从各方面带回的新知识不仅在方法技术层面转变了中国美术的形貌,也通过思想与制度上的改造对文化格局作出更进一步的影响。

郑锦于1902年留学日本,先后就读于京都市立美术工艺学校与京都市立绘画专门学校,1914年回国,随后在梁启超的推荐下任职于教育部。1917年,北京美术学校成立,郑锦出任首任校长。这所中国历史上的首个国立美术学校在郑锦的带领下采取兼容并蓄的教育理念,于中国画学科下设置解剖学、美术史、美学、西洋画等课程,主张以各国之所长补国画所短,注重学生写生技能的培养,这与蔡元培的“美育”思想及“以科学方法入美术”之策略一脉相承,并为中国现代专业美术教育的启蒙提供了范式。1924年,郑锦因学潮运动辞去校长一职,在结识晏阳初后致力于“平民教育”工作,并于1927年来到河北定县推行平民教育运动,以期扫除文盲,提高公民意识,将美育延展至更普遍的民间。

郑锦早年在日本的学习经历以及在故宫博物院的工作经历使其作品呈现出一种日本画与宋代院体画相结合的风格,画面色彩明艳,富于装饰感,形体刻画精微,在表现雍和博雅之传统精神的同时,以一丝不苟的技法追求对实体的细致描绘。郑锦早期的作品多为花鸟与仕女图,三、四十年开始创作反映现实生活题材的作品,这与抗日战争的爆发有关,又或许早已来自郑锦“美术于平民教育上为唯一之利器”的思考。1940年后,郑锦移居澳门专于创作,作品中不乏向大众化审美与题材趋近的趣味,老农花圃、田园风物等日常题材频繁出现于郑锦的画中。

在风云变幻的十九世纪中国,郑锦在绘画语言上的变革不算突出,或许艺术家对于“美术”——这一1902年方才始现于中国文艺叙述中的词汇——的理解与表达已经超脱单纯的创作者之于技术甚或是境界及思想层面的苛求,而看向了之于民众的更广阔的社会功能的探索。

中国上世纪初的现代化过程是在外力挤压下的仓促迈进。就美术而言,这以1905年左右开始的大规模留日运动为起点。留学生从各方面带回的新知识不仅在方法技术层面转变了中国美术的形貌,也通过思想与制度上的改造对文化格局作出更进一步的影响。

郑锦于1902年留学日本,先后就读于京都市立美术工艺学校与京都市立绘画专门学校,1914年回国,随后在梁启超的推荐下任职于教育部。1917年,北京美术学校成立,郑锦出任首任校长。这所中国历史上的首个国立美术学校在郑锦的带领下采取兼容并蓄的教育理念,于中国画学科下设置解剖学、美术史、美学、西洋画等课程,主张以各国之所长补国画所短,注重学生写生技能的培养,这与蔡元培的“美育”思想及“以科学方法入美术”之策略一脉相承,并为中国现代专业美术教育的启蒙提供了范式。1924年,郑锦因学潮运动辞去校长一职,在结识晏阳初后致力于“平民教育”工作,并于1927年来到河北定县推行平民教育运动,以期扫除文盲,提高公民意识,将美育延展至更普遍的民间。

郑锦早年在日本的学习经历以及在故宫博物院的工作经历使其作品呈现出一种日本画与宋代院体画相结合的风格,画面色彩明艳,富于装饰感,形体刻画精微,在表现雍和博雅之传统精神的同时,以一丝不苟的技法追求对实体的细致描绘。郑锦早期的作品多为花鸟与仕女图,三、四十年开始创作反映现实生活题材的作品,这与抗日战争的爆发有关,又或许早已来自郑锦“美术于平民教育上为唯一之利器”的思考。1940年后,郑锦移居澳门专于创作,作品中不乏向大众化审美与题材趋近的趣味,老农花圃、田园风物等日常题材频繁出现于郑锦的画中。

在风云变幻的十九世纪中国,郑锦在绘画语言上的变革不算突出,或许艺术家对于“美术”——这一1902年方才始现于中国文艺叙述中的词汇——的理解与表达已经超脱单纯的创作者之于技术甚或是境界及思想层面的苛求,而看向了之于民众的更广阔的社会功能的探索。

相关文章

郑锦是谁?

2019-01-03 14:18:00

郑锦,我国著名美术家、美术教育家。1918年担任国立北京美术学校第一任校长。中国近现代美术教育的重要开创者。 ...更多

华锦与褧裳——郑锦艺术风格及画学思想探析

2019-10-11 14:24:00

作为近代中国第一所国立美术学校的创校校长,他早年留学日本,中岁京城办学、赴华北农村推行平民教育,晚年寓居粤澳潜心创作,其生平经历浓缩了20世纪前中期中国... ...更多

校史钩沉:郑锦与中国第一所国立美术院校的创立

2019-10-11 16:03:37

很多时候,人们提起20世纪初那一股中国青年学子留学日本的巨潮,在一长串学习美术的名单中,郑锦是并不起眼、甚至在追溯中央美术学院校史时也是被许多人遗忘了的... ...更多

作品图片

作品图片

相关展览

丹青锦裳——郑锦与中国近现代美术教育

2019-01-09~2019-03-03

<p>为期一年的“百年校庆年”系列活动临近收官,学校以“两个致敬”作为礼敬百年传统的代表性学术活动,以致敬新中国成立后的中央美术学院首任院长徐悲鸿先生——举办... ...更多
快捷登录帐号密码登录
  • 手机号码
    手机号码将作为您的登录账号
  • 验证码
  • 账号
     
  • 密码
可使用雅昌艺术网会员账户登录