Art & Artists Artists & Collections Artists Gu Yuan

Gu Yuan

1919-1996

SUMMARY

Gu Yuan’s work is a social history of revolution and development in 20th century China: the construction of base areas, the War of Liberation, the Five-Year Plan, the Great Leap Forward…the magnificent historical narratives were depicted by Gu Yuan in his wood engravings and watercolor paintings in such a detail, that they were transformed into care about ordinary people. The political theme was thus transformed into a “lyric poetry” (Ai Qing).

In 1938, Gu Yuan arrived in Yan’an, and went to the third phase of Department of Fine Arts at Yan’an Lu Xun College of Art in the following year. In 1942, Mao Zedong published Talks at the Yan’an Forum on Literature and Art, in which he called for teachers and students of the Lu Xun College of Art to walk outside the “little college”, and spread the literature and art among the masses. Gu Yuan thus transformed many engraving forms and styles, including the intaglio method, which originated from Western Europe, into relief method that characterized Chinese folk New Year paintings and traditional Chinese wood carvings. He created many works with clear outlines, easy to understand for peasants, and of the spirit that “art serves the people”.

The combination of art career and the Party’s revolutionary cause is the character of many Yan’an artists. Both a soldier of the nation and an individual artist, they worked hard to balance between revolutionary narrative and individual expression, to create works that both match political ideology and are rich in artistic beauty. Such balance was demonstrated in Gu Yuan’s work through his observation of the local conditions and customs. Through sentiments and flavors of life, Gu blurred political ideology in his detailed depiction of real and unadorned social relationship.

After 1950s, due to the improvement of creative environment, and the artist’s belief that “colored image is more suitable for depicting the inner beauty of the working people”, Gu Yuan increased his watercolor painting creation. In these colorful yet plain landscape paintings, the portrayal of people still remained. In his Ink and Wash Paintings of Gu Yuan published in 1985, Gu wrote: “I rarely paint landscape paintings without people in it…Art comes from life. I always go into people’s life for interesting, healthy and positive subjects.”

Until his death in 1990s, Gu Yuan had been carrying on the simple creative style, as he believed that the art that reflects life and moves the society forward would always be new art. Such idea lasted for his life after he attended the Yan’an Forum on Literature and Art in 1942. Even today, Gu Yuan’s idea still inspires us to think about all kinds of questions about forms and functions of painting.

Gu Yuan’s work is a social history of revolution and development in 20th century China: the construction of base areas, the War of Liberation, the Five-Year Plan, the Great Leap Forward…the magnificent historical narratives were depicted by Gu Yuan in his wood engravings and watercolor paintings in such a detail, that they were transformed into care about ordinary people. The political theme was thus transformed into a “lyric poetry” (Ai Qing).

In 1938, Gu Yuan arrived in Yan’an, and went to the third phase of Department of Fine Arts at Yan’an Lu Xun College of Art in the following year. In 1942, Mao Zedong published Talks at the Yan’an Forum on Literature and Art, in which he called for teachers and students of the Lu Xun College of Art to walk outside the “little college”, and spread the literature and art among the masses. Gu Yuan thus transformed many engraving forms and styles, including the intaglio method, which originated from Western Europe, into relief method that characterized Chinese folk New Year paintings and traditional Chinese wood carvings. He created many works with clear outlines, easy to understand for peasants, and of the spirit that “art serves the people”.

The combination of art career and the Party’s revolutionary cause is the character of many Yan’an artists. Both a soldier of the nation and an individual artist, they worked hard to balance between revolutionary narrative and individual expression, to create works that both match political ideology and are rich in artistic beauty. Such balance was demonstrated in Gu Yuan’s work through his observation of the local conditions and customs. Through sentiments and flavors of life, Gu blurred political ideology in his detailed depiction of real and unadorned social relationship.

After 1950s, due to the improvement of creative environment, and the artist’s belief that “colored image is more suitable for depicting the inner beauty of the working people”, Gu Yuan increased his watercolor painting creation. In these colorful yet plain landscape paintings, the portrayal of people still remained. In his Ink and Wash Paintings of Gu Yuan published in 1985, Gu wrote: “I rarely paint landscape paintings without people in it…Art comes from life. I always go into people’s life for interesting, healthy and positive subjects.”

Until his death in 1990s, Gu Yuan had been carrying on the simple creative style, as he believed that the art that reflects life and moves the society forward would always be new art. Such idea lasted for his life after he attended the Yan’an Forum on Literature and Art in 1942. Even today, Gu Yuan’s idea still inspires us to think about all kinds of questions about forms and functions of painting.

Related essays

江丰:回忆延安木刻运动

2018-11-03~2019-02-28

同工农兵群众生活密切结合的延安木刻,除了内容充实,情节生动以外,还有一个显著的特色,那就是艺术形式趋民族化。延安木刻民族化的探索,有明确的目的,是以群... ...More

Understand Gu Yuan

2018-11-03~2019-02-28

There seems to be a special attachment between us - this is not limited to certain incidents or artworks, but more accurately speaking, Gu Yuan and hi... ...More

Artworks

Artworks

Quick loginAccount login
  • Mobile phone number will be your login ID
  •  
Use Artron membership to login

艺术与艺术家 艺术家&典藏 艺术家 古元

古元

1919—1996

简介

古元的作品是一部记录二十世纪中国革命与发展历程的社会史:建设根据地、解放战争、五年计划、抗美援朝、大跃进......一系列宏大叙事在古元的木刻版画与水彩中,被细节化为对普通人物的关注,政治题材在此转化为一首“抒情诗”(艾青语)。

1938年,古元来到延安,并于次年进入延安鲁迅艺术文学院美术系第三期学习。1942年,毛泽东发表《在延安文艺座谈会上的讲话》,号召鲁艺师生走出“小鲁艺”,把文艺更有效地普及到工农群众中去,古元由此将版画创作中取法西欧的形式风格与阴刻法转变为更多吸收民间年画和中国传统木刻的阳刻法,创作出众多轮廓鲜明、易于农民理解,“艺术服务群众”的作品。

将艺术事业与共产党革命事业结合是众多延安美术工作者的写照,他们在作为国家战士与作为个体艺术家的双重身份中竭力调和革命叙事与个体表达的诉求,以创作出既契合政治理念、又富于艺术美感的作品。这种调和在古元的作品中体现为对现实风土人情的体察。世俗情感与生活气息在他的作品里将模糊的政治概念都具体在真切平实的社会关系中。

二十世纪五十年代后,由于创作条件好转,也由于“用色彩组成的形象更适于表现劳动人民心中的美”,古元的水彩画创作逐渐增多。在这些色彩丰富、表现质朴的水彩风景画中,依旧离不开对人的描画。古元在1985年出版的《古元水彩画选辑》中写道:“我很少画没有人烟的、纯自然的风景画……艺术来源于生活,我总是到人民生活中去找情趣,表现健康的、有积极意义的事物。”

直至九十年代去世,古元一直坚持这种平实的创作风格,因为古元认为,能够反映生活、推动社会前进的艺术,就是新艺术。这种思想从1942年古元参加延安文艺座谈会起,便贯穿其一生,也在今天继续推动着我们思考关于绘画形式与作用的种种问题。

古元的作品是一部记录二十世纪中国革命与发展历程的社会史:建设根据地、解放战争、五年计划、抗美援朝、大跃进......一系列宏大叙事在古元的木刻版画与水彩中,被细节化为对普通人物的关注,政治题材在此转化为一首“抒情诗”(艾青语)。

1938年,古元来到延安,并于次年进入延安鲁迅艺术文学院美术系第三期学习。1942年,毛泽东发表《在延安文艺座谈会上的讲话》,号召鲁艺师生走出“小鲁艺”,把文艺更有效地普及到工农群众中去,古元由此将版画创作中取法西欧的形式风格与阴刻法转变为更多吸收民间年画和中国传统木刻的阳刻法,创作出众多轮廓鲜明、易于农民理解,“艺术服务群众”的作品。

将艺术事业与共产党革命事业结合是众多延安美术工作者的写照,他们在作为国家战士与作为个体艺术家的双重身份中竭力调和革命叙事与个体表达的诉求,以创作出既契合政治理念、又富于艺术美感的作品。这种调和在古元的作品中体现为对现实风土人情的体察。世俗情感与生活气息在他的作品里将模糊的政治概念都具体在真切平实的社会关系中。

二十世纪五十年代后,由于创作条件好转,也由于“用色彩组成的形象更适于表现劳动人民心中的美”,古元的水彩画创作逐渐增多。在这些色彩丰富、表现质朴的水彩风景画中,依旧离不开对人的描画。古元在1985年出版的《古元水彩画选辑》中写道:“我很少画没有人烟的、纯自然的风景画……艺术来源于生活,我总是到人民生活中去找情趣,表现健康的、有积极意义的事物。”

直至九十年代去世,古元一直坚持这种平实的创作风格,因为古元认为,能够反映生活、推动社会前进的艺术,就是新艺术。这种思想从1942年古元参加延安文艺座谈会起,便贯穿其一生,也在今天继续推动着我们思考关于绘画形式与作用的种种问题。

相关文章

江丰:回忆延安木刻运动

2019-10-25 13:46:00

同工农兵群众生活密切结合的延安木刻,除了内容充实,情节生动以外,还有一个显著的特色,那就是艺术形式趋民族化。延安木刻民族化的探索,有明确的目的,是以群... ...更多

懂得古元

2019-10-15 14:47:00

我与他似乎有一种特别的关系。这不是指某些具体的事件和艺术对我的影响,确切地说,古元和他的艺术在我思维的网络中是一个坐标,就像棋谱上的几个重要的“点”。在... ...更多

作品图片

作品图片

快捷登录帐号密码登录
  • 手机号码
    手机号码将作为您的登录账号
  • 验证码
  • 账号
     
  • 密码
可使用雅昌艺术网会员账户登录